Answers To Your Questions Right Away
DUI arrests must be dealt with immediately, and you need to be able to get answers to your questions immediately. Call me or text me at 404-890-0044 and you will get answers immediately. In many cases, we can get bond set, we can get some charges dismissed, reduced, or nolle prossed, and we can get the penalty reduced. And we can help you get your driving privileges back. We can't do all of these things in all cases. But we get these results in many cases. And the sooner we get started on your behalf, the better your result is going to be.
We represent clients on a flat fee that varies depending on the charges you face, or on an hourly rate at $250 per hour, with a retainer paid upfront. Both options are available and are up to you. Most choose our flat fee option because that gives you certainty on what your costs will be.
This page is a reference sheet for you, with links to sites that may answer your questions about Georgia DUI laws and your options following a DUI arrest. This information will change periodically so you may wish to check back on this page.
Automatic Driver's License Suspension
The first step to take after an arrest when you are evaluating your legal options is to submit an appeal of the automatic suspension of your drivers license.
A timely appeal or request for hearing must be made within 10 business days. It must include certain basic driver identification information (name, address, phone, license number, date of birth), but should also state the "grounds" or reasons for appealing. The grounds for REFUSAL appeals are not identical to the grounds for ALS appeals. To set forth all available grounds, an attorney's assistance is needed. Dozens of potential issues may be raised in the appeal letter.
Upon the completion of the WRITTEN appeal, it should be either:
- Hand delivered to 2206 East View Parkway, Conyers, GA 30013 (ALWAYS OBTAIN A RECEIPT FOR DELIVERY)
- Sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, and be POSTMARKED within the 10 business day time period.
The address for certified mail is:
Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Safety
Post Office Box 80447
Conyers, GA 30013
You could fax a request for hearing to 404-624-7848. However, a fax request should not be relied upon as the official appeal notice since the law doesn't specifically authorize this method of filing the appeal. I recommend using either certified mail or personal hand delivery (with a signed receipt).